How To Get Your License

HOW TO GET YOUR TEXAS DRIVER LICENSE!

In order to receive your drivers license in Texas, teens must complete:

Straight Forward Driving School offers teen driving programs designed to make the process - straight forward.

(20 Hours Daytime Driving & 10 Hours Nighttime Driving)

STEP ONE: The Basics

• 32 hours of driving and safety theory (Classroom Portion)
• 7 hours of driving
• 7 hours of observing other students

• 30 hours of additional driving - logged outside of class

PRINT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Teens can enroll in a driver's ed. program as early as 14 years old & 9 months.
When selecting your course make sure to consider both the theory and the
behind the wheel segment of the training.
Our driver's education course is fully integrated, making it the most comprehensive 
teen drivers ed. course around. - Online and in person!

STEP TWO: Driver's Ed.

Enroll in a Driver Education Program

ENROLL NOW!

If taking the online course, after 6 hours and passing your tests,
you will receive a certificate to apply for your learners permit.

You will take your certificate to the DPS along with all of the other
required identification documents.

STEP THREE: Driver's PERMIT

Apply for your learner permit!

When you have your permit...
You are ready to schedule driving lessons!

(If you are learning locally in a classroom setting, you will receive
your certificate after the first 5 days of class and passing your tests.)

GET IN LINE AT THE DPS

Before receiving your completion certificate, you will have successfully completed
32 hours of theory work as well as 14 hours of Behind-The-Wheel Driving.


Your 14 hours of driving must be completed with a certified instructor or parent-teacher.
Remember that learning to drive is a learned skill that requires practice and study.

National Standards recommend at least 10 hours of professional instruction.

(7hrs Driving & 7hrs Observation)

STEP FOUR: Completion

Complete your Driver Education Program!

ENROLL NOW!

The 81st legislature enacted the Less Tears More Years Act requiring teens
to log an additional 30 hours of behind the wheel driving with a
certified instructor or parent/guardian. At least 10 of these hours must
take place after dark.
If you need help completing and logging your 30 hours of additional
driving, Straight Forward Driving can help!

STEP FIVE: 30hr Driving Log

Now you need to log an additional 30hrs of driving!

OFFICIAL TDLR LOG SHEET

Avoid the hassle of taking your driving test at the DPS office.
Straight Forward Driving School is authorized to offer the official DPS Road Test
at our local, Katy, Texas Driving Center.
Get your license in familiar surroundings, and in complete comfort.
Whether you take your Road Test with us or choose to wait and take it with the DPS,
you will first need to take the two-hour online IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers Course.

STEP SIX: DPS Road Test

Complete and pass the Texas DPS Road Test!

CALL TO SCHEDULE A ROAD TEST

To get your license, you will need to provide a DE-964 completion certificate,
your IMPACT Texas Teen Drivers completion Certificate, 30 hour driving log,
and VOE. After completing all requirements, you will then take the DPS Road Test.
If you choose to take the Road Test with us, we will provide you with an
envelope to exchange for your license at the DPS!

STEP SEVEN: Texas Driver License

Apply for your new Texas Driver License!

GET IN LINE AT THE DPS

-Local- TEEN Driver Education:

-LOCAL- Katy, TX

COMPLETE Driver Education Program

$250.00 $230.00Add to cart

14hr BTW Driving Lessons Only $239!
(separate payment when you’re scheduled)

This is our COMPLETE driver education package. This product is perfect for those who want the most guidance and support as possible throughout their learning experience. The required 32hr Driving Theory / Classroom portion will be completed at our local, Katy, Texas Driving Center. 

After the first 6 hours of class, students will be eligible for their learner permit and can begin their driving lessons with one of Straight Forward’s certified driving instructors. All 7 hours of driving observation AND 7 hours of driving instruction will be completed under the supervision of our trained and certified instructors.

We will help you through every step of the way and ensure that you acquire your Texas Driver License.

LEARN MORE

-LOCAL- Katy, TX

32hr Classroom ONLY

$250.00 $230.00Add to cart

This product is designed for students who want to complete their 32 hours of theory in a Classroom environment. This Product gets you a spot in our local, Katy, Tx Classrooms and nothing more. We will walk you through getting your permit and help you to complete your 32 hours of theory.

After completing this course, you will still need to complete your 7hrs of driving observation and 7hrs of driving instruction. This can be completed with a certified driving instructor through any driving school or can be done at home with a TDLR approved parent/guardian.

LEARN MORE

-LOCAL- Katy, TX

14hr Behind-The-Wheel ONLY

$399.00 $359.00Add to cart

This course is designed for students who have already completed the theory portion of their driving instruction. This would mean that they have completed the course at high school, with another driving school, or by taking it online somewhere else. These students only need to complete the 14hr behind the wheel driving portion.

This product includes 7hrs of driving observation and 7hrs of driving instruction with a certified driving instructor.

LEARN MORE

-Online- TEEN Driver Education:

COMPLETE

Texas - Parent Taught Driver Education

$59.99

See more...

9 Chapters
0 out of 235 steps completed0%
1 2 3 ... 12

$79.99 $59.99Add to cart

This is the complete online web course. Students will complete ALL of the driving theory online and through this website. The online course can be accessed from any device with an internet connection.


The behind the wheel portion of the instruction will be guided by the parents. This product includes numerous tools and downloadable PDF guides to help parents along the way.

Everything you need is included and your certificates will be issued instantly upon completion.

Behind The Wheel ONLY

Texas - Parent Taught

$29.99

See more...

1 Chapters
0 out of 2 steps completed0%

$49.99 $39.99Add to cart

This course is designed for students who have already completed the theory portion of their driving instruction. This would mean that they have completed the course at high school, with another driving school, or by taking it online somewhere else. These students only need to complete the behind the wheel driving portion of their instruction and can do so with their parent or guardian IF the parent qualifies with TDLR.

If you want to teach your teen to drive, and they have already completed their course work, this is the product for you!

Teen Online Parent Taught Course &

Texas - Instructor-Led-Driving

$59.99

See more...

9 Chapters
0 out of 235 steps completed0%
1 2 3 ... 12

$59.99Add to cart

14hr BTW Driving Lessons Only $300!
(separate payment when you’re scheduled)

This course is designed for students who want to learn the Classroom portion of their driver education online and at home. This course allows for students to complete their 32 hours of driving theory at home, and on their own schedule.

After completing the first 6 hours of driving theory (Module 1), students are able to print their certificate, visit the DPS, and acquire their learner permit. At this time, students can then schedule their 14hrs of Behind-The-Wheel driving practice & observation at any of our locations.

Everything you need is included and your certificates will be issued instantly upon completion.

LEARN MORE

-DPS Road Test- Skip the lines at the DPS!

ONLY $100!

Ready to take your DPS Road Test? Take it with us and skip the lines at the DPS.

We also offer pre-test preparation. Our certified instructors will spend time with you and help you to properly prepare for the test. We have found that this greatly increases the driver’s score, and we have an almost 100% PERFECT passing rate! 

CALL US TO SCHEDULE: 832-858-0956

-Driving Lessons- 2hr Sessions Available!

$60/Hr

State law requires teens to complete an additional 30 hours of driving instruction (no observation) to be administered by parents or guardians. People are busy, and we understand! If you need assistance in completing these hours, we can help!

Call us today to schedule your driving hours! 832-858-0956